STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

C5-84-2139

ORDER AMENDING THE MINNESOTA RULES FOR ADMISSION TO THE BAR

The Minnesota State Board of Law Examiners has requested that the Court amend the Minnesota Rules for Admission to the Bar to increase application fees.

The Court has reviewed the request and is fully advised in the premises,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

The attached amendments to Rule 11 of the Rules for Admission to the Bar are adopted, prescribed and promulgated to be effective January 1, 2003.

Dated: December 17, 2002

BY THE COURT:

Kathleen A. Blatz

Chief Justice

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

DEC 1 8 2002

FILED

RULES FOR ADMISSION TO THE BAR

Rule 11. Fees

- B. Fee for Examination, Not Previously Admitted. An applicant taking the examination for the first time and filing on or before October 15 for the February examination, or on or before March 15 for the July examination, shall submit a fee of \$300 \$400. An application for the examination submitted after the timely filing date but on or before December 1 for the February examination, or on or before May 1 for the July examination, shall include a fee of \$450 \$550.
- C. Fee for Examination, Prior Admission. An applicant licensed to practice in another jurisdiction more than six months prior to the date of the Minnesota examination and timely-filing timely, shall submit a fee of \$625 \$750. An application for examination submitted after the timely filing date but on or before December 1 for the February examination, or on or before May 1 for the July examination, shall include a fee of \$775 \$900. An applicant licensed to practice in another jurisdiction less than six months prior to the date of the Minnesota examination, shall comply with paragraph B of this Rule.
- **D. Repeat Examinations.** An applicant who has previously has been unsuccessful on the examination and is filing on or before December 1 for the February examination, or on or before May 1 for the July examination, shall include a fee of \$300 \$400 and comply with Rule 4(C)(5).
- **E.** Fee for Admission Without Examination. An applicant for admission without examination shall submit a fee of \$625 5750. An applicant for admission pursuant to Rule 9 shall submit a fee of \$825 5950.
- F. Fee for Temporary License for Legal Services Program Practice. A fee in the amount of \$50 \$75 must accompany an application for Temporary License pursuant to Rule 8. Payment of an additional fee, as required by Rule 11(B), will qualify applicants under Rule 6. Payment of an additional fee, as required by Rule 11(C), will qualify applicants under Rule 7(A) or 7(B).

H. Refunds of Fees. An applicant may request a A refund in the amount of \$100 \$125 will be made in the following circumstances:

- (1) If the When an applicant for the bar examination who advises the Board in writing at least four days prior to an examination of the applicant's desire to withdraw the application;
- (2) If the When an applicant for the bar examination was is denied permission to take an examination for due to failure to provide a certificate of graduation required by Rule 4(C)(2)(a).

No other requests for refund will be granted.

K. Copies of Examination Answers. An unsuccessful applicant may request will receive copies of the applicant's essay answers upon written request to the Board accompanied by a fee of \$20 and submitted within 60 days of the release of the examination results and submission of a fee of \$15.